The Ambulance.

by Phil Spaugy

Reproduction Civil War Howard Ambulance built by Marvin and Liz Knasel.

Reproduction Civil War Howard Ambulance built by Marvin and Liz Knasel.

Since my youth, I have had a tremendous interest in the American Civil War. This has caused me to be a collector, or in some cases, a gatherer, of items relating to the conflict. When the unique opportunity came about to purchase a reproduction of a Civil War ambulance I could not pass it up.

Offered for sale by the builder, master woodworker and Civil War re-enactor Marvin Knasel and his wife Liz, both of Eaton, Ohio, the ambulance had been used in the living history displays of the Ohio Valley Civil War Association (http://www.ovcwa.com) of which Marvin and Liz are both members. After making a short trip to Eaton to meet Marvin and Liz and to “kick the tires” a bit, a deal was struck, and my wife Amy and I became the proud owners of this very unique and historical vehicle. We will take delivery when the weather gets better, and at that time I will have more photos (and perhaps a short video) to share. One item that I am researching is what would be the appropriate unit designation to be painted on the canvas sides of the ambulance. If you have some information please feel free to pass it along.

Now what to do with a Civil War ambulance?  My friend and fellow blogger Craig Swain (http://markerhunter.wordpress.com) suggested that the ambulance would be just the thing for us to travel in to attend the 2014 Sesquicentennial events. However, we are lacking a mule team and driver, even though I have no doubt that Craig, being from Missouri, could pull that off.  Amy had several ideas on what I might do with the ambulance, but one was physically not possible (I think) and the rest are probably best not mentioned here. There is a plan afoot, however, and over the next month or so  it will be chronicled in this blog so stay tuned!!

Ambulance drivers and their wagons at Harewood Hospital in Washington, D.C. July, 1863.

Ambulance drivers and their wagons at Harewood Hospital in Washington, D.C.
July, 1863.

